The Summer Rain is here and Waterfalls are Flowing

While hiking down from Highland Mary Lakes in the Weminuche Wilderness, I could hear the power of the creek as it fell a few thousand feet along the trail.  There was a profusion of waterfalls and creek falls of varying sizes as the trail descended to Cunningham Gulch.  I carry a trekking pole as well as a tripod and used the trekking pole with a tripod head attached to record this waterfall.

The two images compare shutter speeds.  The first image is exposed at a fast shutter speed of 1/50 of a second and doesn’t speak to how I like waterfalls to feel.  Many point and shoot digital cameras on program modes will create this look in your photo.

This waterfall was shot at a fast shutter speed, 1/50 of a second, on P mode, to show how point and shoot cameras tend to record water flowing. ©Kit Frost

The second image shows how I prefer to expose waterfalls.  I like a bit of blur with some detail in the “lines” of the fall.  I used a slower shutter speed, chose aperture priority mode and a shutter speed of 1/4 second.  What do you think?  How do you prefer the photo?

All images ©Kit Frost

Camera information:  Nikon D5100, Nikon 16-85 lens, Mountainsmith trekker pole, Manfrotto tripod head.

4 thoughts on “The Summer Rain is here and Waterfalls are Flowing

  1. I used your suggestions in my recent trip to a park with a waterfall: thanks! My photos were “silky water” and “not silky water”: thought of you when I showed the others the settings. They were appreciative, also.

  2. I have to admit I like the 2nd waterfall better when the shutter was slowed down to a 1/4 sec. It does give you a better feeling to the picture. Thanks Kit

Please let me know what you think about this post

