Photo Workshop: Suggested Gear List

Planning on registering for a Chase the Light Photography Adventure?  Whether you are flying into Durango in the Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall, we suggest you bring along the following gear.  Email Kit Frost to discuss any questions you have about gear.

For most subjects, as long as we are in walking distance of our transportation, we suggest:

  1. Tripod (Manfrotto carbon fiber) and the correct quick release plates pre-mounted on my camera bodies.
  2. DSLR camera body
  3. Wide angle lens (10-35mm wide)
  4. Telephoto lens (24-85 lens)
  5. Macro lens (we like the Canon 55mm macro and the Nikon 60mm macro)
  6. Cable release for each camera body
  7. SD and Compact flash cards (usually about 48 GB)
  8. 2 stop (.06) Graduated Neutral density filter (a must for grand landscapes)
  9. Cokin P holder for above
  10. Up to two extra camera batteries, and chargers.
  11. All in a sweet backpack type camera bag (my current bag is a Lowe Expedition 5)

Kit’s personal gear list for Adventures that include hiking.

When we are on a more adventurous trip, including some hiking, when weight is important, some things in the camera bag are left in the studio or in a case in the car: For hiking more than 5 miles or multiday backpacking I take the following gear.

  1. Tripod, lightweight carbon fiber ( I love Manfrotto gear)
  2. Nikon D5100 and Nikon L120
  3. Nikon 16-85mm lens
  4. Nikon 12-24mm lens
  5. Nikon 55-300mm lens
  6. Cable release for D5100
  7. SD cards (usually about 48GB)
  8. 2 stop (.06) Graduated Neutral Density filter
  9. Cokin P holder for above
  10. I carry the DSLR in a waterproof camera bag that I sling over my shoulder and the rest of the gear is either in my backpack or daypack.
  11. Extra batteries for each camera
  12. I don’t “chimp” photos on a multiday trip as the batteries will not last without recharging.
  • I am shopping for a lightweight, solar battery charger, but so far, buying and keeping additional batteries charged is proving cheaper and lighter weight.  While camping on cold nights in the mountains I sleep with my water bottle and batteries in the sleeping bag with me.
  • I sometimes take my ipad with me to use the GPS tracking and to upload/backup files.

I suggest participants judge their minimum needs for hiking, however, if the car is nearby, then feel free to bring all your most important gear along.

 

 

Essential gear in the mountains and general gear for all workshops:  Feel free to pack this gear in a separate day bag.

  1. Raingear, jacket and pants
  2. Warm layers, fleece is a good choice
  3. Hat, rain or sun
  4. Bug repellent
  5. Sunscreen
  6. Waterbottle
  7. Snack

One thought on “Photo Workshop: Suggested Gear List

Please let me know what you think about this post

