Revisit the same location for Photography

I often stop at a few favorite locations along 550 North of Durango.  The Grenadiers and the Weminuche Wilderness Peaks are visible in these images. ©Kit Frost

I often stop at a few favorite locations along 550 North of Durango. The Grenadiers and the Weminuche Wilderness Peaks are visible in these images. ©Kit Frost

Another view of the Grenadier Range and the Weminuche Wilderness in Colorado.  ©Kit Frost

Another view of the Grenadier Range and the Weminuche Wilderness. That’s the Wham Ridge, and the Trinity Peaks near the middle and far left of this frame; popular with mountaineers and climbers. This image is one of a series shot with Fuji Velvia film. ©Kit Frost

I love the Mountains in Colorado, the changeable light, the mountain weather.   I often return to the same location so I can play with the many possibilities of light and time.  The scenic drive between Silverton and Durango Colorado is nearby and I often take a drive to scout Wildflowers, Waterfalls and Grand and Intimate landscapes for personal photography and to select locations for Photography instruction and workshops.  At the crest of Molas Pass, I have a few favorite viewpoints where I photograph the Grenadier Range, and the peaks of the Weminuche Wilderness looking east from the pass.

I often use a 2-stop graduated neutral density filter (Tiffen is my favorite).  I have YET to get a spectacular sunset from this location as the mountains at my back place a huge shadow on the scene.  You can see the shadows casting dark values on the snow scene.  The foreground gets pretty blocked up once the sun sets in the west.

Engineer Mountain is a local favorite, and a familiar site along the Scenic drive from Durango to Silverton too.  Many of us hike to the top of Engineer each year.  It’s a great place to view the surrounding San Juan National forest and the peaks of the Weminuche Wilderness.  Very close to the Durango Mountain Resort, Engineer looks great year round.  I was fortunate enough to live in Cascade Village, just south of the peak for a year and was able to watch the light and clouds paint patterns on the mountain from my living room.  When I was seduced, I’d grab the gear and head out of a few hours of photography.  Often, in October, the fall colors mix with an early snowfall.

Engineer Mountain with fresh snowfa

Many years, early snowfall occurs in the mountains while the autumn colors are at peak. Engineer Mountain looks alot closer in the above image because I used a 75-300 lens which compresses space and makes far objects appear closer.©Kit Frost

Oftentimes, early snowfall occurs in the mountains while the autumn colors are at peak. ©Kit Frost

Photographed just a few days earlier, you can see the clouds building up in this scene.  ©Kit Frost

3 thoughts on “Revisit the same location for Photography

  1. I couldn’t agree more. The more times I visit a place the more I focus on taking good pictures and the less on a need to capture or document an area. As much as I like to travel and explore new places, I often find many of my best photos are taken at local sites that I go to repeatedly including my own yard.

Please let me know what you think about this post

