Photographing under mixed lighting conditions

In this exercise, I set up my tripod to compose a beautiful group of wild lupine.  These wildflowers bloom in late June at altitudes around 10,000 feet.  On days when the sun is hiding behind clouds and the clouds are moving, there are plenty of opportunities to see the light travel across the subject.  I usually like when the sunlight is slightly diffused by the clouds.  Which one do you prefer?

Wilds-2013-8-2

Full shade was on this bunch of lupine, the cloud cover was heavy. ©Kit Frost

Wilds-2013-10-2

Bright, speckled sunlight was painting across the same bunch. ©Kit Frost

Wilds-2013-11-2

I really like the subtle light as it flowed over the lupine. I waited until the foreground lupine was well, but not too harshly lit. ©Kit Frost

 

Lupin Lupinus Nederlands: Lupine (Lupinus) Fra...

Lupin Lupinus Nederlands: Lupine (Lupinus) Français : Lupin (Lupinus) Deutsch: Lupine (Lupinus) Español: Lupín (Lupinus) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One thought on “Photographing under mixed lighting conditions

  1. After going over a number of the articles on your website, I truly appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
    I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking
    back soon. Please visit my website as well and tell me
    how you feel.

Please let me know what you think about this post

