Colorado Fall Foliage Report

Every year, in mid-September, I begin keeping an eye on the weather in the San Juan National Forest of Southern Colorado.  Tonight’s forecast in Durango is for rain.  Silverton is expecting snow.  And YES, that means the first frost will hit the aspens tonight.  A safe bet for fall foliage changing color is to count ten days from today and get out as often as possible.

My favorite fall foliage photography locations:

  • Near Durango, Colorado.  I love to drive our nearby, backcountry roads. (photos below)
  • The drive from Durango to Silverton, including the Pigeon and Turret Overlook, Durango Mountain Resort, and Lime Creek Road. (Potato Hill photo below)
  • Shrine Road, northwest of Silverton
  • Red Mountain Pass
  • Dallas Divide
  • Owl Creek Pass
  • Telluride
  • The West fork of the Dolores River to Dunton.

Stay Tuned.  Follow me for updated Colorado Fall Foliage Report.  The attached photos were taken in the fall of 2012.

Fall colors are stunning in Colorado

This scene, mixed aspen and spruce/fir is indicative of altitudes around 9000 feet in Colorado in the fall. ©Kit Frost

I like to find "opposites" on the color wheel in my photos.  In this case the backlit aspens were gold, orange and almost burgundy, against the blue of the La Plata Mountains.  The camera meter wants to expose backlit subjects too dark, so, go ahead and overexpose a series of images and see which tones you like the best ©Kit Frost

I like to find “opposites” on the color wheel in my photos. In this case the backlit aspens were gold, orange and almost burgundy, against the blue of the La Plata Mountains. The camera meter wants to expose backlit subjects too dark, so, go ahead and overexpose a series of images and see which tones you like the best ©Kit Frost

A local favorite, Potato Hill, on the left is surrounded by Aspens glowing in their fall glory.  I waited for a few moments to capture this wide angle image with the shadows outlining the Twilight peaks (West Needle Mountains) ©Kit Frost

A local favorite, Potato Hill, on the left is surrounded by Aspens glowing in their fall glory. I waited for a few moments to capture this wide angle image with the shadows outlining the Twilight peaks (West Needle Mountains) ©Kit Frost

Fall colors are stunning in Colorado

A short drive from Durango, up along Junction Creek Road, leads to this big view of the San Juan Mountains. That’s Engineer Peak lit by the sun. I waited about 1/2 hour for the cloud shadows to exaggerate the colorful scene. ©Kit Frost

5 thoughts on “Colorado Fall Foliage Report

  1. These are beautiful! 🙂
    I am the creator of the website for First Spiritual Science Church of Denver. I am wondering if I could have permission to use some of your photos on our website? If so, I will make sure to link to this page and to give you the credit. I will also send you a link of our site once I have it up and running. (I am revising what is there at this time.)

    Thank you, Tami Harms

Please let me know what you think about this post

