Up-to-Date Colorado Fall Foliage Color Report

I drove up to Silverton the other night.  The Aspen Grove on Shrine Road near Silverton is always the first  to change color each year.  Here are a few images from along Mineral Creek, near that location.

At the bottom of the hill, heading into Silverton Colorado.  The color changes here first each year. ©Kit Frost

At the bottom of the hill, heading into Silverton Colorado. The color changes here first each year. ©Kit Frost

I’ll say that although early, the rolling fall color in our area is beginning to show.  Set your calendar for a visit to Southern Colorado sometime starting September 20th.  Traditionally, I count ten days from our first frost.  We’ve been having lots of cold nights and so, we’re seeing subtle aspen color changing.

At the location of these photos, the Aspen cops will turn a variety of colors from yellow to gold to coral, to almost red.  Right now these trees are just beginning to change color.

I love this spot along Mineral Creek, about 1/2 northwest of Silverton. ©Kit Frost

I love this spot along Mineral Creek, about 1/2 northwest of Silverton. ©Kit Frost

26 thoughts on “Up-to-Date Colorado Fall Foliage Color Report

  1. Hi, check out some photos from just south of the Purgatory, Durango Mountain Resort. My latest fall color report, posted 9/23/13 tfrost.wordpress.com/2013/09/23/rain-hail-and-fall-colorado-foliage-color-report/

  2. I have a feeling that Sept. 26-28th will be a bit early for fall color this year. But there will be pockets at higher elevations. Try driving over Red Mountain Pass and look north for the big fall aspen color display.

  3. I’m scouting tomorrow and teaching over the weekend so I’ll post as soon as I can. But so far, the color is slow, and I’m calling the first weekend in October the peak weekend.

  4. I think it’s safe to say that our FAll color will still be blooming October 1st. I am scouting tomorrow and teaching over the weekend so I’ll post as soon as I can. But so far, the color is slow, and I’m calling the first weekend in October the peak weekend.

  5. Thanks so much for the posts Kit….The wife and I won’t be able to get to Colorado (Lake City) until around Oct. 1st. Will there be any color left????

  6. Hi Kit,
    I am driving up from Texas and will be in Aspen on the 23-26th and Ouray 26-28th. I am hoping for spectacular photos. Thank you for these updates.

    Harriet Feagin

  7. The drive north from Durango to Silverton, and west from Durango to Telluride is stunning any time of year. Hope you catch a glimpse of early fall color MEEMEE.

  8. Oh I see your trip is in December. Along Highway 550 between Durango and Silverton are some awesome grand landscapes in the winter. Keep coming back to this site for snow reports and winter photo ideas in and around Durango

  9. Hi Kit, thanks for sharing with us! How do you think this weekend gonna be like? I planned to go Silverton, Durango, and Telluride this weekend but I don’t see much hope. I still wish the aspen will turn yellow overnight any day before this weekend, but I don’t know if that would be possible. Or I should postpone it for a week?

  10. hello kit, thank you so much for your advice. your photo s are gorgeous. makes me wish i was there right now, in the fall.

    we will be driving up from arizona so we will stay near there or just make it a day trip then. Do you think that is a good idea?

  11. Thank you for posting these updates. I’m planning on arriving in CO Sept 21st. and will be there for a week. I hope I catch some great color.

  12. Absolutely. But in the winter the train doesn’t go all the way to Silverton, just as far as Cascade. The Durango to Silverton is a locals favorite, and visitors love it. I like to send off my friends in Durango and then go pick them up and drive them back. But can’t be done is winter. Cascade is nice but the train ride is better during Spring, Summer and Fall

  13. your photos are gorgeous – i was just reading up on the silverton railway for our southwestern trip in dec this year. do you think the railway ride is worth it?

Please let me know what you think about this post

