Create Drama in your Photographs

Use Shadow and Light to lead the viewer’s eye through your composition

Shadows point the way towards Hesperus Peak, Southern Colorado

Shadows point the way towards Hesperus Peak, Southern Colorado

I favor using foreground shadow to accentuate the middle ground and distant subjects in my photographs.  I think the darkness/shadow in the foreground is important.  I wait for it.  Sometimes it requires a late afternoon or early morning low light, at other times cloud shadows work to take away the flat, boring, full sun.  Check out these examples and evaluate what you think the images would look like without the shadow and light.

This week’s assignment: with or without your camera, notice shadow and light. Whatever your subject, observe the light falling on and around your composition.  Perhaps a slight change in composition would really make your photo have drama.

Because there is a mountain behind me as well as in front of me.  Late in the day shadows fall on the closest trees. ©Kit Frost

Because there is a mountain behind me as well as in front of me. Late in the day shadows fall on the closest trees. ©Kit Frost

I deliberately framed this image with the fir tree on the right for added depth and interest. ©Kit Frost

I deliberately framed this image with the fir tree on the right for added depth and interest. ©Kit Frost

 

3 thoughts on “Create Drama in your Photographs

  1. Thank you for always being so generous with your expertise. Your photos are beautiful and great examples of what you have described with the shadow and light leading the eye into the picture.

Please let me know what you think about this post

