My Love Affair with Trees

I love trees, any time of year. In the Winter, I love the snow laden branches, in the spring the colorful budding of the leaves, in the summer, although less dramatic, their glory is evident, and in the fall they go out with a “bang”.

My studio is on East 3rd Avenue in Durango, my windows face north and east, so I do like to keep my eye out for compositions.  Here are a few images taken this past Friday while walking along East 3rd Avenue.

I am in the habit of getting up from my desk, taking walks, even if just for 10 minutes.  To air out, to stretch my legs, and on this occasion, to walk to my stylist, for a cut.

Gotta love when the trees stand there like a painting.  Showing off their fall wardrobe. ©Kit Frost

Gotta love when the trees stand there like a painting. Showing off their fall wardrobe. ©Kit Frost

A recent autumn walk, after our early fall snowstorm.  I like to photograph in the quiet light of cloudy skies. ©Kit Frost

A recent autumn walk, after our early fall snowstorm. I like to photograph in the quiet light of cloudy skies. ©Kit Frost

Photograph opposites, like pink and green. ©Kit Frost

Photograph opposites, like pink and green. ©Kit Frost

It's amazing to me how nature decides to adorn the landscape.  Of course these trees were planted many moons ago. ©Kit Frost

It’s amazing to me how nature decides to adorn the landscape.  Of course these trees were planted many moons ago. ©Kit Frost

I often walk or ride my bike in Durango, so I get to experience the change of seasons slowly as it occurs. My favorite time of year is definitely the fall as the colors snap and the storms bring in cloud cover to help saturate the intensity of the subjects.

I’m hoping someone reading this blog will teach me the types of trees I’ve photographed along East 3rd.

Leave a comment please.

Please let me know what you think about this post

