Photographing Fall Colors in Capitol Reef National Park

I spent the last few days at Capitol Reef National Park.  I planned this adventure after investigating online, guessing that the fall colors would be in bloom along the Fremont River and in the canyons near Capitol Reef.  I wasn’t disappointed.  When I make a decision to go out for photo “shoot”, I tend to pour over images taken by other photographers to see if I can guess at the best time of year, and the best week of the year.  Late October was my guess.

This past weekend in Capitol Reef was spectacular.  My favorite locations included near the Visitor Center, along the Fremont River, and in the orchards.  Apples are free for the eating in the orchard.

What to do in Capitol Reef

  • Get out and STAY OUT
  • Get up early, go for a hike (Spring Creek)
  • Take the drive to the Grand Wash and Capitol Wash.
  • Spend time in the Visitors Center, watch the film during the harsh light of noon.
  • Since the walls of the canyons are close together, I prefer the south-facing color late day
  • Wait for clouds
  • Best time of day: IMHO: 3:30-5:30
I love playing with compositions to see what I can do to make my images look painterly.  This cottonwood was HUGE. ©Kit Frost

I love playing with compositions to see what I can do to make my images look painterly. In this example I “stacked” the orange orchard against the large golden cottonwood, against the background red rock wall.  This cottonwood was HUGE. ©Kit Frost

October light in the Canyons ©Kit Frost

October light in the Canyons ©Kit Frost

Near the campground at Capitol Reef National Park, the late afternoon light painted shadows in the orchard. ©Kit Frost

Near the campground at Capitol Reef National Park, the late afternoon light painted shadows in the orchard. ©Kit Frost

Self Portrait: Capitol Reef Orchard. ©Kit Frost

Self Portrait: Capitol Reef Orchard. ©Kit Frost

The fall colors in and around the Fruita area are in full bloom right now ©Kit Frost

The fall colors in and around the Fruita area are in full bloom right now ©Kit Frost

 

2 thoughts on “Photographing Fall Colors in Capitol Reef National Park

Please let me know what you think about this post

