Enter these Photography Contests

Should We Pay to Enter Photo Contests?

Our local galleries advertise a call for entries to about four exhibitions per year.  The cost is usually around $30. for up to three entries.  I pay for the entries whether my work is chosen for exhibition or not.

The same is true for online submissions to contests.  While some are free, most online exhibitions charge a fee for entry.  Much of the time, we’re helping the online website continue to prosper, sometimes we’re paying for a juror, and sometimes if I see a juror who I would LOVE to see my photos I will enter a contest just for that reason.

Here are a few contests I ran into this morning.  And their costs and deadlines.  Additionally, some of the contests are subject specific or have a theme.

Click on the image above to link to the PictureCompete website.

Click on the image above to link to the PictureCompete website.

The Picture Compete contests, Aging, My Home, and Childhood are closed and past deadline, but you can sign up to be informed of 2014 contests.

I find it helpful to see what the judges have selected in the past as winning images.

 

 

TeraBella Media, enter contests by clicking the above image.

Deadline: March 13, 2014 TeraBella Media, enter contests by clicking the above image.

And here’s a link to the Photo Contest Directory, where you can troll through their contests and choose the right one for you. http://www.thephotocontestdirectory.com

And by googling online photo contests, I found this link.
http://www.viewbug.com

Have you found some cool contests to enter, nice prizes?

Let me know. kit@kitfrost.com

Please let me know what you think about this post

