Today’s Inspiration : Adult Coloring Books

When I was a young artist I often painted by number and played with “kits” of art making. In fact, I’d have to say it was the beginning of my love for art. Today, I like the simplicity of a few hours of “coloring”.  It brings me a meditative, peaceful feeling.  I am not under pressure to “make art”, but to enjoy art making.

I have carried coloring books and a box full of simple art supplies with me for years. Today, although most of my time in spent photographing some of our country’s most awesome landscapes, I enjoy downtime with coloring books.  And at camp, often whip out a set of coloring books, colored pencils and markers to share with friends, some with simple or complex patterns in black and white and some with drawings of our National Parks.

I ran across Enchanted Forest: An Inky Quest & Coloring Book by Johanna Basford. Johanna was featured in a recent NPR, All Things Considered segment.  Her coloring books are so popular that her first book sold over 1.5 million copies.

Although temporarily out of stock, due to their popularity, Johanna Basford books, once ordered, will arrive shortly.  Great gifts!

How about a coloring party!

I like this set of cards designed to share, color, and mail (or maybe matte and frame)

Notecards to color.

Notecards to color.

Click here to join the ranks of adults purchasing Enchanted Forest. A beautiful coloring book for adults (and teens too)

Click here to join the ranks of adults enjoying Enchanted Forest. A beautiful coloring book for adults (and teens too)

Click the link to purchase Balance on Amazon.com

Angie Grace’s coloring books are full of intricate, mandala, zen like, patterns. Click on this image to be directed to Amazon.

And for those of you who like to paint outside the lines, here’s another inspirational moment.  Painted stones by Elspeth McLean.

Painted stones by Elspeth McLean

Painted stones by Elspeth McLean

Screenshot 2015-04-03 12.26.20

Some Links to cool, creative, coloring books for Adults and Teens.

Secret Garden, by Johanna Basford

Johanna set up a coloring gallery on her website for folks to share their fun. “Share your colouring! Upload a picture and tell us what pens and pencils you used. Like what you see? Give it a thumbs up! I’ll post the highest rated pictures each week on my Facebook page.”

Color Me Calm, A Zen Coloring Book by Lucy Mucklow

Do you have a favorite coloring book to share.  Enter the link in the comments.  Happy Coloring!

Please let me know what you think about this post

